The BSBI is a registered charity and a company limited by guarantee. Its overall governance is overseen by a Board of Trustees, supported by an advisory Council. BSBI also has a variety of committees who oversee activity on a specific topic, or for a particular area. BSBI members sit on the committees (see lists below) and we are very grateful for their volunteer contribution. Various staff members also attend these meetings to support committee activities or help with administration.

All material to support BSBI governance is stored in our separate password-protected Governance website which is accessible to all BSBI members, so they can view minutes of all meetings of BSBI Council, country and standing committees and the Board of Trustees. Members should head over to our members-only area (password required) for access details. Non-members can see our full accounts here, minutes from our Annual General Meeting here and can join BSBI here.

Good governance: click on the links to view or download BSBI's  Safeguarding Policy and  Personal Data Policy

Board of Trustees

  • Christopher Miles (Chair)
  • Paul Bisson
  • Chris Cheffings
  • Mick Crawley
  • Ian Denholm
  • John Faulkner
  • Alastair Fitter
  • Steve Gater (Company Secretary)
  • Sandra Knapp
  • Anthony David Thomas
  • Sarah Whild
  • Delyth Williams (Hon. General Secretary)

Records & Research Committee

  • Paul Smith (Chair)
  • Jo Parmenter (Secretary)
  • Chris Cheffings
  • Helena Crouch
  • Quentin Groom
  • Jeremy Ison
  • Simon Leach
  • Robert Northridge
  • Oliver Pescott
  • Richard Pryce
  • Martin Rand
  • Gerry Sharkey

Publications Committee

  • John Poland (Chair)
  • Ciara Sugrue (Secretary)
  • Andrew Branson (BSBI News Editor)
  • Ian Denholm (British & Irish Botany Editor-in-Chief)
  • John Edmondson (Book Reviews Editor)
  • Chris Preston (Obituaries Editor)
  • Paul Ashton
  • Jerry Clough
  • James Common
  • John Edgington
  • Trevor James
  • Louise Marsh
  • Paul O'Hara


  • Chris Metherell (BSBI President & Chair)
  • Helena Crouch (Secretary)
  • Max Brown
  • Mary Dean
  • Ian Denholm (Editor-in-Chief, British & Irish Botany)
  • Mark Duffell
  • Martin Godfrey
  • Anne Haden
  • Liz Lavery
  • Anne Middleton
  • Robert Northridge (Chair, Committee for Ireland)
  • Matt Parratt
  • Oli Pescott
  • Jonathan Shanklin (Hon. Field Meetings Secretary)
  • Ian Strachan (Chair, Committee for Scotland)
  • John Swindells
  • Stephanie Tyler (Chair, Committee for Wales)

Meetings & Communications Committee

Training & Education Committee

  • John Warren (Chair)
  • Alex Prendergast (Secretary)
  • Paul Ashton
  • Stephen Clarkson
  • Sarah Dalrymple
  • Mark Duffell
  • Brenda Harold
  • Chris Metherell
  • Jonathan Mitchley
  • Sue Townsend
  • Sarah Whild

Committee for Ireland

  • Robert Northridge (Chair)
  • Ralph Sheppard (Vice-chair)
  • Edwina Cole (Secretary)
  • John Conaghan (Irish Field Meetings Secretary)
  • Rory Hodd (Treasurer)
  • Joanne Denyer
  • John Faulkner
  • Alexis Fitzgerald
  • Mark McCorry
  • David McNeill
  • Paula O'Meara

Committee for Scotland

  • Ian Strachan (Chair)
  • Liz Lavery (Secretary)
  • Lindsay Mackinlay (Vice-chair)
  • Aileen Meek (Field Meetings Secretary)
  • John Crossley
  • David Elston
  • Natalie Harmsworth
  • Liz Kungu
  • Alan Walker

Committee for Wales

  • Stephanie Tyler (Chair)
  • Vice Chair TBC
  • Liz Dean (Honorary Treasurer)
  • Andy Jones (Field Meetings Secretary)
  • Kath Pryce (Minuting Secretary - non-voting)
  • Richard Pryce (Welsh Bulletin Editorial Representative)
  • Elsa Wood (Honorary Secretary)
  • Steve Chambers
  • John Crellin
  • Sarah Stille
  • Kate Thorne
  • Ray Woods

BSBI and GDPR: We only hold any information requested from you in order to send you the publication/ information described or to administer the event advertised. We will treat your information as confidential, hold it securely and will never pass it on to third parties. The exception is our Subscriber database which BSBI has checked for full compliance with data protection regulations. The lawful basis for processing this data is defined under GDPR regulations as contractual/ consent/ legitimate interests. You can request to see the data we hold on you at any time and we will remove you from our systems and discontinue contact at your request: just email and mark your email 'Unsubscribe'.